1,511,979 sq miles (3 916 007 km²) are privately owned and 1,485.6 sq miles (3 847.7 km²) are under the administration of the territorial governments.

Provincial and territorial public land, Public lands of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia (except the "railway belt" and Peace River block) have been administered since Confederation by the provincial governments. In 1930, the federal government transferred the unalienated portions of the natural resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta and of sections of British Columbia to the respective governments, and all unalienated lands in Newfoundland, except those administered by the federal government, became provincial public lands under the Terms of Union on March 31, 1949. All land in Prince Edward Island has been alienated except 133 sq miles (344 km²) under federal or provincial administration.

The transfer by the federal government of land within and immediately surrounding established communities in the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory to the respective territorial governments began in September 1970 when four such transfers were completed, three in the Northwest Territories and one in the Yukon, for a total of 665 sq miles (1722 km²). Since then 15 transfers were completed in the following areas: Yukon Territory: Faro 91 sq miles (236 km²), Beaver Creek 2 sq miles (5 km²), Mayo 4 sq miles (10 km²), Teslin 1 sq mile (2.6 km²), Carmacks 12 sq miles (31 km²), Destruction Bay 2 sq miles (5 km²), Carcross 9.6 sq miles (24.9 km²), Watson Lake 2 sq miles (5 km²), Northwest Territories: Frobisher Bay 51 sq miles (132 km²), Aklavik 8 sq miles (21 km²), Fort Simpson 140 sq miles (363 km²), Fort Smith 22 sq miles (57 km²), Fort Providence 81 sq miles (210 km²), Hay River-Enterprise 142 sq miles (368 km²), Norman Wells 175 sq miles (453 km²), Fort McPherson 31 sq miles (80

1.4.1 Federal parks

Parks Canada, a program of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, includes National Parks, National Historic Parks and Sites, historic waterways, wild rivers and byways. Parks Canada has its headquarters in Ottawa but operational responsibility rests with five regional offices: the Atlantic regional office in Halifax, the Quebec regional office in Quebec City, the Ontario regional office in Cornwall, the Prairie regional office in Winnipeg and the Western regional office in Calgary.

km²), Fort Franklin 25 sq miles (65 km²), Fort Good Hope 22 sq miles (57 km²).

National historic parks and sites. The National Historic Parks and Sites of Canada commemorate persons, places and events of major significance in the historical development of Canada, The Dominion Forest Reserves and Parks Act in 1911 created in the Department of the Interior a Dominion Parks Board to administer national and historic parks. In 1917, Fort Anne at Annapolis Royal, NS was declared Canada's first National Park of historic significance.

A seven-member Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada was formed to advise the minister on sites of national historical interest. The board met for the first time at Ottawa on October 28, 1919. The second National Historic Park was established in 1927 and by 1950 there were nine, receiving over 150,000 visitors annually.

The National Parks Act of 1930 provided that the Governor in Council may set apart any land as a National Historic Park to commemorate an historic event, or preserve any historic landmark or any object of historic, prehistoric or scientific interest of national importance. The Historic Sites and Monuments Act of 1953 provided the statutory base for the operation of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board and defined the role of the board as adviser to the minister. Further legislation was enacted in 1955 and 1959 to amend and broaden the scope of the original act. The Canadian Historic Sites Division, now the National Historic Parks and Sites Branch, was created in the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources in 1955 to develop, interpret, operate and maintain historic parks and sites and to act as secretariat for the board.